<rdf:RDF xmlns:rdf="http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#" xmlns:dcterms="http://purl.org/dc/terms/">
<rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/283">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Hotel Ponce de Leon]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Flagler College&#039;s Ponce Hall]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[The Hotel Ponce de Leon was opened in 1888 by Henry Flagler as a luxury hotel in St. Augustine, FL. Henry Flagler is accredited with modernizing St. Augustine and turning it into the "Newport of the South." This was his first hotel, but he went on to build many more hotels along the east coast of Florida as well as the Florida East Coast Railroad.<br /><br />During World War II, the Hotel was borrowed by the Federal Government and converted into the Barracks and training ground for the Coast Guard. Locals remember the trainees and the gun or cannon fire from training periods throughout the day when gun exercises took place.<br /><br />In 1968, to save the Hotel from demolition, Flagler's heirs turned the building into an all-women's college. In 1971 with the ascendency of Dr. William L. Proctor to the office of president, the College became co-ed and was accredited.  Since then, Flagler College regularly wins awards and accolades for both academics and athletics. Air conditioning was first installed in Ponce Hall in c.2001. Extensive renovations of Ponce Hall were started in 2022 and are currently ongoing. Flagler College is a small, liberal arts college with one Master's degree in Deaf Education.<br /><br /><span>In 1975, the Hotel Ponce de Leon was added to the </span><a href="https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">National Register of Historic Places</a><span>. </span>]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=Carrere++%26+Hastings">Carrere  &amp; Hastings</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1 (c.1886):</strong> Graham, Thomas. <em>Flagler’s St. Augustine Hotels: The Ponce de Leon, The Alcazar, and the Casa Monica</em>. Pineapple Press.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (c.1887):</strong> Graham, Thomas. <em>Flagler’s St. Augustine Hotels: The Ponce de Leon, The Alcazar, and the Casa Monica</em>. Pineapple Press.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 3 (c. 1950s):</strong> Courtesy of the Flagler College Archives. <a href="https://library.flagler.edu/college-archives/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://library.flagler.edu/college-archives/</a>.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 4 (2023):</strong> Augusty, Jean-Marc. "Picture of Flagler College." March 24, 2023.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 5 (2025):</strong> Zufelt, Holly. "Ponce Plaque." October 10, 2025.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 6 (2025):</strong> Owens, Katherine. "NHL Plaque." October 17, 2025.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Winsberg, Morton D., compiler. <em>Florida’s History through Its Places: Properties in the National Register of Historic Places</em>. Institute of Science and Public Affairs/Florida State Univ., 1988.]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1887-1888]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on October 17, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1941-1946]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1968]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[c.2001]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[2022-ongoing]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[This building is located on the corner of <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/342" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">King Street</a> and <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/314" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Cordova Street</a> facing <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/438" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Granada Street</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[The Hotel Ponce de Leon was part of Henry Flagler&#039;s Enterprises, specifically, the Florida East Coast Railroad System.]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[The Hotel was part of the auxiliary training locations created immediately before and during WWII to train Coast Guardsmen.]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[Ponce Hall is the main building on Flagler College&#039;s campus.]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this building as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/20" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Age of Innocence</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/148" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">American Girl</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/38" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Belle of Camden County</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/271" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Dark Cries of Gray Oaks</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/206" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Devil's Own Dear Son</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/105" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">An East Florida Romance</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/177" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Elsie in the South</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/47" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">A Florida Enchantment</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/217" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Florida Is Closed Today</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/259" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Frank Merriwell's Life Struggle</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/222" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">A Golden Sorrow</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/75" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Grandmother in Cellophane</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/57" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">La Vida Vampire</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/48" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Ladies' Juggernaut</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/44" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Last Resort</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/58" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Last Vampire Standing</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/91" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Love and Honors</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/46" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Mandie and the Seaside Rendezvous</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/160" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Matanzas Moon</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/107" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">My Mother Is a Violant Woman</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/51" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Mystery of the Missing Candlestick</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/130" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Pablo's Search</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/277" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Ponce de Leon's Fountain of Perpetual Youth</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/201" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">One Summer in the Old Town</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/221" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Out of Step</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/79" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Reaper of St. George Street</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/174" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Romance of a Kentuckian in St. Augustine</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/55" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Salt Run</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/242" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Sand Crabs and Sharks</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/190" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Secret Missions</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/101" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Sliding Beneath the Surface</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/250" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine A to Z</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/122" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine Spirits in Our Midst</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/102" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Stepping Off a Cliff</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/39" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Sweet Dreams, St. Augustine</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/106" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Tales of St. Augustine</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/124" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Things That Hang from Trees</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/117" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Three Vassar Girls at Home</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/220" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Two Salomes</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/253" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Vampirate of Matanzas Inlet</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[The original purpose of this building was as a grand hotel.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This building was a Coast Guard training center during World War II.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This building was repurposed as a college.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[Parts of Ponce Hall are open to the public. For tour information, please refer to <a href="https://legacy.flagler.edu/pages/tours" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Historic Tours of Flagler College</a>.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Flagler College<br />74 King Street <br />St. Augustine, FL 32084<br /><a href="https://www.flagler.edu" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://www.flagler.edu</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/285">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Hotel Granada]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Hotel Alhambra]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Hotel Granada was built in 1893. It was located next to Villa Zorayda. The hotel was bought by the Mussallem family in 1913 and renamed the Alhambra Hotel. The hotel under this name was in operation until it burned down in 1954.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=Franklin+W.+Smith">Franklin W. Smith</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1 (c.1895-1913):</strong> Rogero, Beth, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Gilded Age</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2008.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (c.1913-1954):</strong> Bowen, Beth Rogero, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Roaring Twenties</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2012.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 3 (2024):</strong> Augusty, Jean-Marc. "Chase Bank." September 26, 2024.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Bowen, Beth Rogero, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Roaring Twenties</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2012.<br /><br />Visit St. Augustine. “Hotel Granada.” 2024. <a href="https://www.visitstaugustine.com/gallery-image/hotel-granada">https://www.visitstaugustine.com/gallery-image/hotel-granada</a>.<br /><br />Rogero, Beth, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Gilded Age</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2008.]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1895]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on September 26, 2024.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1913]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[September 21, 1954]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The Hotel Granada used to be located on the corner of <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/342" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">King Street</a> and <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/438" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Granada Street</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction book features this building as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/121" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Uncle Sam's</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:isReplacedBy><![CDATA[Replaced by a parking lot, the Chase Bank on the corner of King and Granada and the small strip mall facing Granada Street.]]></dcterms:isReplacedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[The original purpose of this building was as a grand hotel.]]></dcterms:type>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/286">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Burning Spring Museum]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[<span>The South Beach Alligator Farm<br /></span>]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Whitney&#039;s Alligator Farm]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[The South Beach Alligator Farm and Burning Spring Museum]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[South Beach Alligator Farm and Museum of Marine Curiosities]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[St. Augustine Ostrich-Alligator Farm &amp; Musuem of Marine Curiosities]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[St. Augustine Alligator Farm]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[The park was started in 1893 by a man named Everett Whitney with a sulfer spring that he poured gasoline into and ignited to create a blue flaming spring, aptly named the Burning Spring Museum. He had a souvenier shop attached to his attraction.<br /><br />In 1901, nearby, two businessmen, George Reddington and Felix Fire began showing and charging admission to see their alligators under the title, The South Beach Alligator Farm, although it was in operation (free of charge) in c. 1899. In 1903, Whitney cut ties with the farm and spring which had merged at an unspecified date to begin business ventures elsewhere. Reddington and Fire began an ongoing effort to expand the size and exhibits offered at the Farm shortly after Whitney's departure to include other animals and act as a waystation for animals being sent for scientific study to other locations around the state/country. Their efforts to improve the attraction lead to incorporation in 1909 as The South Beach Alligator Farm and Museum of Marine Curiosities.<br /><br />In September 1920, a nor'easter hit the St. Augustine area and washed away the railroad tracks tourists used to visit the alligator farm. In December a fire in the area tore through buildings although those for the museum were spared. But in April 1921 another fire occured and all was lost, and the remants washed out to sea in a summer storm. Fortunately, before all these disasters befell Reddington and Fire, they had begun rebuilding further inland at the current location near the St. Augustine Lighthouse. In the 1920s, the name was changed again to St. Augustine Ostrich-Alligator Farm &amp; Museum of Marine Curiosities because of public interest in the birds. The opening of the Bridge of Lions in 1927 provided more motor access to the location and visitors increased.<br /><br />Then in the 1930s, Fire stopped being a co-owner and started being a fulltime taxidermist at the farm, a position he held until his death in 1953. Reddington sold the attraction to W. I. Drysdale and F. Charles Usina in 1937. That same year, there was a fire which burned down the main building, and so the pair built a new building. They changed the orientation though so the new structure faced not Old Quarry Road but SR 140 (now known as A1A). The mission-style building (one of only three buildings built in 1930s St. Augustine) harkened back to the popular 1920s Florida boom style that was reminiscent of St. Augustine's architecture. This building was built by F.B. Meade and Howard McClain, local contractors. By 1992, the main building for the Alligator Farm was of such historic importance, it was added to the <a href="https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">National Register of Historic Places</a>.<br /><br />Through promotion and adding more variety of animals in the 1940s and '50s, the Alligator Farm became nationally known. Although neither Usina or Drysdale were trained zoologists, they recorded the behavior and life cycles of their gators. By the 1960s, the Alligator Farm contributed to the public's knowledge of the poaching of alligators and contributed to awareness of the alligator's near-extention status. In the 1970s, scientists from the University of Florida began doing research at the Alligator Farm, and additions to the site enhanced educational inquiry and not just curiosity seeking. A partnership with Florida's Audubon Society resulted in a rookery for the birds that had long been part of the attraction. A second partnership with the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service and Florida Game and Freshwater Fish Commision focused on exhibits about Florida marine life.<br /><br />The Drysdales have passed the farm down through the generations after Usina's 1966 passing. The current owner is David Drysdale who is on the Board of Trustees for Flagler College. The Alligator Farm was accredited by the American Association of Zoological Parks and Aquariums in 1988. In 2001, a satellite research location was opened, Anastasia Island Conservation Center. A new animal exhibit and feature were opened in the 2010s: sloths and ziplining.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=Everett+C.+Whitney">Everett C. Whitney</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[<p>The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong> Photograph 1 (1890s)</strong>: Adams, William R. and Carl Shiver. <em>The St. Augustine Alligator Farm: A Centennial History</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Southern Heritage Press, 1993.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (c.1920s):</strong> <em>St. Augustine</em>. Kansas City, MO: Van Noy-Interstate, c.1920.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 3 (c.1929):</strong> <em>Saint Augustine Florida: The Quaintest City in the United States; The Oldest City in the United States</em>. Saint Augustine Chamber of Commerce, c.1929.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 4 (1947):</strong> Adams, William R. and Carl Shiver. <em>The St. Augustine Alligator Farm: A Centennial History</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Southern Heritage Press, 1993.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 5 (2025): </strong>Zufelt, Holly. "Alligator Farm." July 25, 2025.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 5 (2025):</strong> Zufelt, Holly. "Alligator Farm Plaque." October 24, 2025.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Adams, William R. and Carl Shiver. <em>The St. Augustine Alligator Farm: A Centennial History</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Southern Heritage Press, 1993.<br /><br />“St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park: A Story More Than 125 Years in the Making.” <em>St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park</em>. 2024. <a href="https://www.alligatorfarm.com/tickets-info/our-history/">https://www.alligatorfarm.com/tickets-info/our-history/</a>. </p>]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1893]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on October 31, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1901]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1903-1920s]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1909]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[September 1920 to 1921]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1937]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1970s]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1988]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1992]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[George Reddington and Felix Fire]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[W. I. Drysdale and F. Charles Usina]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[F.B. Meade and Howard McClain]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[This attraction is located on <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/287" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Anastasia Island</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this historic site as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/183" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Chuck: A Story of the Florida Pinelands</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/94" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Fish of Souls</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/19" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Moving Picture Girls Under the Palms</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/id/51" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Mystery of the Missing Candlestick</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/201" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">One Summer in the Old Town</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/130" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Pablo's Search</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/250" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine A to Z</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/144" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Triplets Go South</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This site, regardless of location, has always been a tourist attraction.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[The St. Augustine Alligator Farm is open to the public. For visitor information, please refer to their <a href="https://alligatorfarm.com/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">website</a> for current details.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[St. Augustine Alligator Farm Zoological Park<br />999 Anastasia Blvd.<br />St. Augustine, FL 32080<br />904-824-3337<br /><a href="https://alligatorfarm.com/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://alligatorfarm.com/</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/288">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[South Beach]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[North Point]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Anastasia Island State Park]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Conch Island]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Anastasia State Recreation Area]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Anastasia State Park]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Located on the northern tip of Anastasia Island, Anastasia State Park contains a beach, lagoon, marshes, and 139 campsites. Hundreds of thousands of visitors visit the state park each year for the four miles of pristine white beaches where centuries of histories have unfolded dating back to 1565. <br /><br />When St. Augustine was founded in 1565, Pedro Menendez de Aviles sailed through the northern edge of Anastasia Island State Park, through what was once known as the Salt Run. This land contains features of naturally-occuring coquina that were excavated and used to build various structures in 17th century St. Augustine, most famously, the Castillo de San Marcos. <br /><br />During the Flagler Era (1883-1913), the future state park was known as South Beach and was a popular destination for winter tourists. A tram railway was built where the Bridge of Lions currently stands to carry passengers from downtown St. Augustine to the beach. <br /><br />In 1947, the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers dredged an inlet further north to connect the Matanzas Bay with the Atlantic Ocean. The tip of this new peninsula was originally named North Point and changed to Conch Island, named after famous local fisherman Florence D. Edge, known as “the Conch.” Following Hurricane Dora in 1964, Conch Island became part of Anastasia Island. <br /><br />In 1949, Anastasia State Park was formed, which included the historical coquina quarry. This quarry was added to the <a href="https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">National Register of Historic Places</a> on February 23, 1972. <br /><br />Before the 1980s, a section of A1A went directly through Anastasia Island State Park, following the coast and continuing to the St. Augustine Lighthouse. However, a series of storms took out these portions of the highway and it was built further west beyond park boundaries.<br /><br />In 1999, an archeological dig uncovered a prehistoric artifact in the state park. The artifact, a ceramic shard, was dated to sometime between 700 BC and 1500 AD.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1 (1993):</strong> Adams, William R. and Paul L. Weaver, III.<em> </em><em>Historic Places of St. Augustine and St. Johns County: A Visitor’s Guide.</em> St. Augustine, FL: Southern Heritage Press, 1993.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (2025):</strong> Zufelt, Holly. Anastasia State Park. July 25, 2025.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Adams, William R. and Paul L. Weaver, III. <em>Historic Places of St. Augustine and St. Johns County: A Visitor’s Guide.</em> St. Augustine, FL: Southern Heritage Press, 1993.<br /><br />Adams, William R. <em>St. Augustine and St. Johns County: A Historical Guide</em>. Pineapple Press, 2009.<br /><br />Florida State Parks: The Real Florida. “Spanish Coquina Quarries at Anastasia.” 2024. <a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/Anastasia/spanish-coquina-quarries-anastasia">https://www.floridastateparks.org/Anastasia/spanish-coquina-quarries-anastasia</a>.<br /><br />Florida State Parks: The Real Florida. “Anastasia State Park.” 2024. <a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/Anastasia">https://www.floridastateparks.org/Anastasia</a>.<br /><br />Harvey, Karen G. <em>St. Augustine Enters the Twenty-First Century</em>. Virginia Beach, VA: The Donning Company, 2010.]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on September 3, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1565]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[17th Century-18th Century]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1947]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1964]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1980s]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[Anastasia State Park is located on <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/287" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Anastasia Island</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/admin/items/show/303" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">coquina quarry</a> is part of Anastasia State Park.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[Anastasia State Park is part of the barrier island, Anastasia Island.]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[Anastasia State Park is part of the <a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Florida State Parks</a> system.]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this natural feature as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/77" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Beautiful Dreamer</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/235" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Blinding Tide</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/97" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Black Blood</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/78" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">A Bone in Her Teeth</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/45" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Cracker Cop</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/18" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Florida Snow Party</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/98" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Golden Blood</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/admin/items/show/96" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Pure Blood</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/162" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Storm and the Mermaid</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/193" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">There Is a Season</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This natural resource has man-made constructs on a map but flows seamlessly with the land around it.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[Anastasia State Park is open to the public. For access information and the current entry fee, please visit the park's website at <a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/anastasia" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Anastasia State Park</a>.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Anastasia State Park<br />300 Anastasia Park Road<br />St. Augustine, FL 32080<br /><a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/anastasia" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Anastasia State Park</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/289">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Anderson Cottage]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Crisp-Ellert House]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Alumni House]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[1870 marks the year Clarissa Fairbanks Anderson began construction on the Anderson Cottage, built for guests visiting during the winter. Dr. Anderson, her late husband, had begun the building of Markland House and establishing an orange grove before his death by yellow fever in 1839. He was survived by Clarissa Anderson, a son, and three daughters from his previous marriage. It cost $3900 to build. The land was described as low, wet, and prone to flooding most of the time. This description of the land contrasts with the complaints about dusty and sandy roads (King Street). Mrs. Anderson rented the cottage until her death in June 1881, after which time both Anderson Cottage and the main house, Markland, were rented out by her heirs.<br /><br />Andrew Anderson Jr., their son, lived elsewhere in St. Augustine while guests filled both homes. The per night rental cost of the cottage was $100 a night, one third of the cost of the main house. The money accrued from the rent paid for the usual costs and was supplemented greatly by the orange grove prior to the onset of “die-back" disease which affected all St. Augustine groves at an unspecified date.<br /><br />Anderson Cottage faced onto King Street and was located east of Markland. In 1885, Anderson, Jr., sold the family land east of Markland to Henry Flagler for the building of the Hotel Ponce de Leon. To better build and beautify his new hotel, Henry Flagler moved and remodeled Anderson Cottage to look more in keeping with the appearance of the Hotel Ponce de Leon (poured concrete and red-tiled roof). After the sale, Anderson, Jr., married and moved back into Markland House and remained life-long friends with Henry Flagler.<br /><br />In 2006, local artist, Dr. JoAnn Crisp-Ellert and her husband Dr. Robert Ellert bequeathed Flagler College their home, Anderson Cottage upon their deaths. Dr. JoAnn predeceased her husband, but in 2008 or 2009, upon his death, Anderson Cottage rejoined Markland House under the same ownership for the first time in over 120 years.<br /><br />In 2016-2017, the College began transforming Anderson Cottage into Alumni House with lecture/event space on the first floor. The Proctor Library’s The Heritage Collections department frequently hosts events in this space, conveniently located next door to the Library.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=Clarissa+Fairbanks+Anderson">Clarissa Fairbanks Anderson</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following photographer was used for the above photograph:<br /><br /><p style="margin:0in;background:#FFFFFF;"><strong>Photograph 1 </strong>(2023): <span>Augusty, Jean-Marc. "Photograph of Anderson Cottage/Alumni House." March 11, 2023.<br /><br /></span><strong>Photograph 2 (2025): </strong>Zufelt, Holly. "Photograph of Anderson Cottage Plaque." June 10, 2025.<br /><br /></p>
<p style="margin:0in;background:#FFFFFF;">The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Mariner, Cosmos. “Anderson Cottage.” Edited by Bernard Fisher. HMdb.org: The Historical Marker Database. August 20, 2020. <a href="https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=100592">https://www.hmdb.org/m.asp?m=100592</a>.</p>]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1870]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on June 10, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1885]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[2006-2008]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[2016-2017]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[Anderson Cottage/Alumni House is located next to the <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/375" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Proctor Library</a> on Sevilla Street.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[Anderson Cottage/Alumni House is now part of Flagler College.]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this building as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/admin/items/show/id/130" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Pablo's Search</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This building was originally a rental house on the Markland estate.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This building became a private home in the 20th century.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This building was repurposed as an office building after being bequeathed to Flagler College.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[Access to this building is primarily for Alumni of Flagler College. The building is accessible 8am-5pm Monday to Friday at 48 Sevilla Street. If a tour of campus is desired, please contact the Alumni Office prior to visiting by calling 904-819-6480 or emailing <a href="mailto:WShafer@Flagler.edu" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">WShafer@Flagler.edu</a>.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Flagler College<br />74 King Street<br />St. Augustine, FL 32084<br /><a href="https://www.flagler.edu" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://www.flagler.edu</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/291">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Hospital Street]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Aviles Street]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Aviles Street is the oldest street in the United States and is located in St. Augustine’s present-day art district. <span><span>The Spanish laid-out the street system of St. Augustine in the First Spanish Period. They did not give streets formal names, but rather referred to them based on an important building alongside the road or to where the road led. <br /><br />From 1572 to 1702, the Catholic parish church, </span></span>Nuestra Señora de los Remedios, faced Aviles Street just south of King Street.<span><span><br /></span></span><span><br /></span>The name for Aviles starting in the 1700s was Hospital Street because in the early 1700s, Don Francisco Menéndez Marquez, a wealthy treasury official in St. Augustine, owned a large two-story house that was converted into the Spanish Military Hospital after his death in 1743. In 1770, the British converted the hospital into a courthouse and jail, but it reverted to and was expanded as a hospital under Spanish rule during the Second Spanish Period (1784-1821). The Spanish Military Hospital included hot water, as well as rooms for soldiers, an apothecary shop, procedure rooms, a kitchen, and a morgue. The hospital operated until the original building burnt down in 1818. In 1924, as a tribute to Pedro Menéndez de Avilés, the founder of St. Augustine, and because of the off-putting nature of the name, Hospital Street was renamed Aviles Street.<br /><br />Today, Aviles Street is home to some of the oldest buildings in the city, including the Gaspar Papy House, the Father Miguel O’Reilly House, the Don Manuel Solana House, the Ximénez-Fatio House, and the Seguí-Kirby Smith House, which is now the St. Augustine Historical Society's Research Library. The Spanish Military Hospital Museum is a reconstruction of the hospital that stood on Aviles Street during the Second Spanish Colonial Period. The street is lined with restaurants and art shops, showcasing local St. Augustine artists.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=The+Spanish">The Spanish</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Map 1 (c.1770s):</strong> Reynolds, Charles B. <em>The Standard Guide: St. Augustine, East Coast, Indian River and Lake Worth</em>. St. Augustine, FL: C.B. Reynolds, 1895.<br /><br /><strong>Map 2 (1884):</strong> Bloomfield, Max. <em>Bloomfield’s Illustrated Historical Guide, Embracing an Account of the Antiquities of St. Augustine, Florida (with map). To Which is Added a Condensed Guide of the St. John’s, Ocklawaha, Halifax, and Indian Rivers</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Max Bloomfield, 1884.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1 (c.1920s):</strong> Bowen, Beth Rogero, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Roaring Twenties</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2012.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (c.1933-1937):</strong> <em>Historic Picturesque St. Augustine Florida</em>. Jacksonville, FL: Duval News Co., [1933-1937].<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 3 (c.1942):</strong> <em>Historical Old St. Augustine Florida</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Florida Souvenir Company.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 4 (2025):</strong> Zufelt, Holly. "Aviles Street." June 17, 2025.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Bowen, Beth Rogero, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Gilded Age</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2008.<br /><br />City of St. Augustine, Est. 1565. “Nuestra Señora de los Remedios.”  <a href="https://www.citystaug.com/795/Nuestra-Seora-de-los-Remedios">https://www.citystaug.com/795/Nuestra-Seora-de-los-Remedios</a>.<br /><br />Gordon, Elsbeth “Buff.” <em>Walking St. Augustine: An Illustrated Guide and Pocket History to America’s Oldest City</em>. Univ. of Florida Press, 2015.]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[early 1600s]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on June 18, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1924]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The Fr. O'Reilly House is located on this street.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/files/show/404" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Spanish Military Hospital Museum</a> is located on this street.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/397" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine Historical Society's Research Library</a> is located on this street.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span>The </span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/432" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Ximenez-Fatio House Museum</a><span> is located on this street.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this historic site as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/275" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The First Gentlemen of America</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/143" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Gullible's Travels, Etc.</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/91" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Love and Honors</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/244" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Redfish Oak</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/200" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Tales from the Oldest City: St. Augustine</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/124" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Things that Hang from Trees</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This is one of the original streets in St. Augustine.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[City of St. Augustine]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/292">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Bay Street]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Shell Road/Old Shell Road]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[San Marco Avenue]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Avenida Menendez]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[South Castillo Drive]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[The original portion of this street runs from the Castillo to the St. Francis Barrack's. During the settling of St. Augustine, building on the land north of downtown was prohibited, as Spanish authorities hoped to maintain an artillery “field of fire.” The southern stretch of this road was known for being narrow and sandy.<br /><br />During the British Period the stretch of road in front of the Castillo and running north for an indeterminite length was part of the <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/362" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">King's Road</a> and paved with shells. In the 19th century, this led to the name Shell or Old Shell Road, while within the city gates, it was Bay Street.<br /><br />The land north of the Old City Gates was primarily used for agriculture and farming until 1839, when Peter Sken Smith of Philadelphia and his partner William G. Davis created a subdivision plan and began selling lots along the Old Shell Road. Lucy Abbott and Mr. and Mrs. William Van Ness moved in in the 1870s and helped popularize this section of town. Ms Abbott's name lent itself to the Abbot Tract Historical District east of San Marco Avenue, north of the Castillo, and south of the Shrine due to the number of homes she built and sold. Shell Road became popular for building homes and became primarily a residential street while the streets within the Abbott Tract have remained residential although San Marco is  now commercial. The size of the homes within the Tract indicate if they were built by newly freed slaves or Caucasian homeowners.<br /><br />In 1883, Dr. Reuben Garnett purchased twenty acres of land along Shell Road. His home and orange grove became a tourist destination in St. Augustine known as “Dr. Garnett’s Orange Grove.” Dr. Garnett was so influential that when, in 1889, Shell Road was paved with wood, he suggested renaming the street San Marco Avenue, which was accepted. The name of the street came from the hotel and not the other way around. <br /><br />Meanwhile Bloomfield's 1884 guide to St. Augustine lists Bay Street as the widest street in St. Augustine. Even so, on his map, the road takes a detour by merging with Charlotte Street to go around the St. Augustine basin for mooring boats before continuing south of the Plaza to the Barrack's.<br /><br />In the 1920s, when Highway A1A was being created, it merged with San Marco Avenue/Bay Street from May Street to the Bridge of Lions.<br /><br />Sometime between 1952 and 1971, Bay Street was renamed Avenida Menendez. Today Avenida Menendez is four lanes and the old seawall is buried underneath the current street. The stretch of road around the Castillo is now called S. Castillo Road.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=The+Spanish">The Spanish</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[<p>The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Map 1 (c.1770s):</strong><span> Reynolds, Charles B. </span><em>The Standard Guide: St. Augustine, East Coast, Indian River and Lake Worth</em><span>. St. Augustine, FL: C.B. Reynolds, 1895.</span><br /><strong><br />Map 2 (1884):</strong> Bloomfield, Max. <em>Bloomfield’s Illustrated Historical Guide, Embracing an Account of the Antiquities of St. Augustine, Florida (with map). To Which is Added a Condensed Guide of the St. John’s, Ocklawaha, Halifax, and Indian Rivers</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Max Bloomfield, 1884.<br /><br /><strong>Map 3 (1952): </strong>Vollbrecht, John L. <em>St. Augustine’s Historical Heritage as Seen Today…With Historical Notes on the Oldest House</em>. Photography by J. Carver Harris. Foreword by David R. Dunham. St. Augustine, FL: The Record Press/J. Carver Harris, 1952.<br /><strong><br />Photograph 1 (1882): </strong>Glaser, Louis, fec., <em>St. Augustine</em>. New York: Wittemann Brothers, 1882.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (1904)</strong>: Bowen, Beth Rogero, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Gilded Age: 15 Historic Postcards</em>. Acadia Publishing, 2008.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 3 (1905):</strong> Bowen, Beth Rogero, and the St. Augustine Historical Society. <em>St. Augustine in the Gilded Age</em>. Charleston, SC: Acadia Publishing, 2008.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 4 (1929): </strong><em>Saint Augustine, Florida</em>. Saint Augustine Chamber of Commerce. 1929.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 5 (2023):</strong> Augusty, Jean-Marc. "A View of Bay Street." March 11, 2023.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Adams, William R. <em>St. Augustine and St. Johns County: A Historical Guide</em>. Pineapple Press, 2009.<br /><br />Bloomfield, Max. <em>Bloomfield’s Illustrated Historical Guide, Embracing an Account of the Antiquities of St. Augustine, Florida (with map). To Which is Added a Condensed Guide of the St. John’s, Ocklawaha, Halifax, and Indian Rivers</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Max Bloomfield, 1884.<br /><br />Graham, Thomas. <em>Mr. Flagler’s St. Augustine</em>. Univ. of Florida Press, 2014.<br /><br />Harvey, Karen. <em>St. Augustine and St. Johns County: A Pictorial History</em>. Virginia Beach, VA: The Donning Company, 1980.<br /><br />Lee, Howard. <em>The Story of Old St. Augustine</em>. St. Augustine, FL: Florida Souvenir Company, 1971.</p>]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on October 22, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1765-1775]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1839]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1989]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1920s]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The building that used to house <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/284" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">A1A Aleworks</a> is bordered by Avenida Menendez.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/299" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Bridge of Lions</a> intersects with Avenida Menendez.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/337" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Capo's Bathhouse</a> used to be accessed from Bay Street.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/306" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Castillo de San Marcos</a><span> is on the San Marco Avenue stretch of this road.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The eastern terminus of <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/317" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Cuna Street</a> deadends into S. Castillo Drive.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/341" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Davenport Park</a> is located on San Marco Avenue.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/340" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Highway A1A</a> merges with San Marco/Castillo Drive/Avenida Menendez for several miles through town.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/335" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille</a> is on Avenida Menendez.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/338" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Huguenot Cemetery</a> is on San Marco Avenue.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[Avenida Menendez<span> intersect with the eastern terminus of <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/339" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Hypolita Street</a>.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The eastern terminus of <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/342" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">King Street</a> is Avenida Menendez at the Bridge of Lions.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/362" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">King's Road</a> used to be part of the Shell Road.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/349" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Marine Street</a><span> has two intersections with Avenida Menendez.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/351" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Matanzas River/Bay/Intercoastal</a><span> is on the other side of the seawall from Avenida Menendez and during hurricanes and King tides, tends to flood the street.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/359" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">O.C. Whites</a> is on Avenida Menendez.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span>The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/360" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Old City Gates</a> would have merged <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/407" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. George Street</a> and the S. Castillo Drive section of this road before St. George Street stopped at <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/367" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Orange Street</a> and the Old City Gates became a tourist landmark.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span>The </span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/admin/items/show/361" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Old Jail Museum</a><span> is located on San Marco Avenue.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/307" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Ripley's Believe It or Not!</a><span> is on the San Marco Avenue stretch of this road.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/388" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Seawall</a> borders all of the Avenida Menendez stretch of this road.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/357" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Shrine of Our Lady of La Leche</a> and the church of Nombre de Dios are located off of San Marco Avenue.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/401" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine Municipal Marina</a> is accessed off of Avenida Menendez.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/405" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Francis Street</a> and Avenida Menendez merge at the northeast corner of the <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/406" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Francis Barrack's</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[The eastern terminus of <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/419" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Treasury Street</a> is Avenida Menendez.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span>The <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/383" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Visitor Information Center</a> and the Old Spanish Trail Zero Marker are both on San Marco Avenue where the San Marco Hotel had been.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this historic site as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/204" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">After Dark</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/255" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">All the Salt in the Sea</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/38" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Belle of Camden County</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/206" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Devil's Own Dear Son</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/94" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Fish of Souls</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/161" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Matanzas Moon Ablaze</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/201" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">One Summer in the Old Town</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/199" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Papa and the Gingerbread Man</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/242" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Sand Crabs and Sharks</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/198" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Slingshot</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/49" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Strangers</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This is one of the original streets in St. Augustine.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[City of St. Augustine]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/296">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Beachcomber Restaurant]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[Beachcomber, a restaurant on A Street in St. Augustine Beach, originally opened in the 1940s in a wood shack for beachgoers to grab food without leaving the beach.<br /><br />The current Beachcomber was built in 1984. From 1987-2000, Frank O'Rourke owned and operated the popular restuarant. The Beachcomber was sold in 2014 to Don and Ashley Samora, and Danielle and Steve LeClair. The LeClair/Samora's The Beachcomber is known for seafood, sandwiches, and local beers.]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1</strong> <strong>(2025):</strong> Zufelt, Holly. "Beachcomber Restaurant." October 24, 2025.<strong><br /><br /></strong>The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:
<p>Beachcomber Restaurant. “Our Story.” <a href="https://www.beachcomberstaugustine.com/our-story">https://www.beachcomberstaugustine.com/our-story</a>.<br /><br />McCoy, Kimeko. “Beachcomber Restaurant Still Stands Tall by the Sea.” <em>The St. Augustine Record</em>, July 11, 2014. <a href="https://www.staugustine.com/story/business/2014/07/11/beachcomber-restaurant-still-stands-tall-sea/16110894007/?gnt-cfr=1&amp;gca-cat=p&amp;gca-uir=true&amp;gca-epti=z11xx99e001100v11xx99b00xxxxd11xx65&amp;gca-ft=197&amp;gca-ds=sophi">https://www.staugustine.com/story/business/2014/07/11/beachcomber-restaurant-still-stands-tall-sea/16110894007/?gnt-cfr=1&amp;gca-cat=p&amp;gca-uir=true&amp;gca-epti=z11xx99e001100v11xx99b00xxxxd11xx65&amp;gca-ft=197&amp;gca-ds=sophi</a>.</p>]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1940s]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on October 30, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1984]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1987]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[2000]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[2014]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Frank O&#039;Rourke]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Don and Ashley Samora &amp; Steve and Danielle Samora  LeClair]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[This restaurant is on <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/287" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Anastasia Island</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this building as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/162" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Storm and the Mermaid's Knot</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/251" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine Set</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[The original and current building has always been a restaurant.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[Beachcomber is open seven days a week. For current hours and the menu, please visit their <a href="https://www.beachcomberstaugustine.com/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">website</a>.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Beachcomber<br />2 A Street<br />St. Augustine, FL 32080<br /><a href="https://www.beachcomberstaugustine.com/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://www.beachcomberstaugustine.com/</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/299">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Matanzas River Bridge]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Bridge of Lions]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[The Bridge of Lions was designed by John Greiner and built between 1925 and 1927, officially opening to traffic in February of that year. Built in order to connect the blossoming Anastasia Island and the mainland City of St. Augustine, the Bridge of Lions, (originally called the Matanzas River Bridge), has become a major landmark not just in St. Augustine, but in Florida. Before the current bridge, there was a wooden bridge, built in 1895 and renovated in 1904 to accommodate an electric trolley. The old bridge was accessible from King Street. Due to the increase in traffic, in 1925, construction began on the new bridge.<br /><br />The Florida Society of Civil Engineers, in 1972 declared that the Bridge of Lions and the Gandy Bridge over Tampa Bay as the two most significant bridges in the State. During this decade, repair work did occur. The historical significance to the state designation helped pave the way for the 1982 addition of the Bridge of Lions to the <a href="https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">National Register of Historic Places</a>. But, in 1997, the National Trust for Historic Preservation featured the Bridge of Lions on its yearly "11 Most Endangered Sites" leading to a multi-year effort from 2005 to 2010 to rebuild the historic bridge because it was structurally unsound and did not meet Coast Guard guidelines for drawbridges. The City had a grand reopening of the Bridge in 2010. <br /><br />The original marble lions, placed at the western entrance of the bridge, were donated by Dr. Andrew Anderson II after he commissioned F. Romanelli of Florence, Italy to sculpt a pair of lions similar to those at the Loggia de Lanzi in Florence. Former Flagler College professor, Enzo Torcolletti, assisted with the restoration of the lions both as part of the rebuilding of the bridge, and several years later when two high school students sprayed the lions with graffiti in 2011.<br /><br />In 2015, additional, but granite, lions were added to the eastern side of the bridge on Anastasia Island. These were <span>commissioned and donated by St. Augustine residents Wolfgang and Miki Schau.<br /><br />In 2023, access to the bridge from King Street was blocked while the intersection was excavated to remove a 19th century ship found buried near the western onramp to the bridge.</span>]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=John+Greiner">John Greiner</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1 (1926): </strong>Bowen, Beth Rogero. <em>Bridge to a Dream: Building the Bridge of Lions and Davis Shores, 1925-27</em>. St. Augustine, FL: The St. Augustine Historical Society, 2010.<strong><br /></strong><strong><br />Photograph 2 (1927): </strong>Bowen, Beth Rogero. <em>Bridge to a Dream: Building the Bridge of Lions and Davis Shores, 1925-27</em>. St. Augustine, FL: The St. Augustine Historical Society, 2010.<strong><br /></strong><strong><br />Photograph 3 (1936):</strong> Bowen, Beth Rogero. <em>Bridge to a Dream: Building the Bridge of Lions and Davis Shores, 1925-27</em>. St. Augustine, FL: The St. Augustine Historical Society, 2010.<em><br /></em><em><br /></em><strong>Photograph 4 (2013):</strong> Owens, Katherine. "Close-Up of Lion." August 20, 2013.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 5 (2013):</strong> Owens, Katherine. "Bridge of Lions." August 20, 2013.<br /><br /><span><span>The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br /></span></span>Berglund, Don D. <em>St. Augustine Preservation vs. Makeover: Dynamics of Public Policy in America’s Oldest City</em>. Flagler Beach, FL: Old Kings Road Press, 2015.<br /><br />Bowen, Beth Rogero. <em>Bridge to a Dream: Building the Bridge of Lions and Davis Shores, 1925-27</em>. St. Augustine, FL: The St. Augustine Historical Society, 2010.<br /><br />Clark, Jessica. “Plank by Plank, Archaeologists Remove 1800’s Boat from Mud Under a Road in St. Augustine.” <em>First Coast News (On Your Side)</em>. October 11, 2023. <a href="https://www.firstcoastnews.com/article/news/local/plank-by-plank-archaeologists-remove-1800s-boat/77-6d06a081-f96c-4731-b305-63daa67a9702">https://www.firstcoastnews.com/article/news/local/plank-by-plank-archaeologists-remove-1800s-boat/77-6d06a081-f96c-4731-b305-63daa67a9702</a>.<br /><br />Florida’s Historic Coast. "The History Behind the Bridge of Lions in St. Augustine."  March 5, 2019. <a href="https://www.floridashistoriccoast.com/blog/the-bridge-of-lions/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://www.floridashistoriccoast.com/blog/the-bridge-of-lions/</a>.<br /><br />"Graffiti Artist Who Defaced Bridge of Lions Apologizes to City." <em>St. Augustine Record</em>. January 2, 2012. <a href="https://www.staugustine.com/story/news/local/2012/01/03/graffiti-artist-who-defaced-bridge-lions-apologizes-city/16186150007/">https://www.staugustine.com/story/news/local/2012/01/03/graffiti-artist-who-defaced-bridge-lions-apologizes-city/16186150007/</a>.<br /><br /><em>Historic City News</em>. "Bridge Reopening Ceremony Takes Shape." 2009. <a href="https://historiccity.com/2009/staugustine/news/bridge-reopening-ceremony-taking-shape-1966">https://historiccity.com/2009/staugustine/news/bridge-reopening-ceremony-taking-shape-1966</a>.<br /><br />Visit St. Augustine. "Bridge of Lions." December 26, 2023. <a href="https://www.visitstaugustine.com/thing-to-do/bridge-lions" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">https://www.visitstaugustine.com/thing-to-do/bridge-lions</a>.<br /><br />Winsberg, Morton D., compiler. <em>Florida’s History through Its Places: Properties in the National Register of Historic Places</em>. Institute of Science and Public Affairs/Florida State Univ., 1988.]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1925-1927]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on May 21, 2025.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[1970s]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[2005-2010]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Peter Kendrick Engineering ]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[William W. Willoughby]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:contributor><![CDATA[Dr. Andrew Anderson II]]></dcterms:contributor>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[This bridge connects mainland St. Augustine to <a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/287" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Anastasia Island</a>.]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span>The Bridge of Lions intersects with </span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/292" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Avenida Menendez</a><span>.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:relation><![CDATA[<span>This bridge is at the eastern end of </span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/342" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">King Street</a><span>.</span>]]></dcterms:relation>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction book features this building as a location:<br /><span><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/77" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Beautiful Dreamer</a></span><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/236" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span>Body Shop</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/78" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span>A Bone in Her Teeth</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/151" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span style="font-weight:400;">Breed</span></a><br /><span style="font-weight:400;"><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/155" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Butterfly Game</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/182" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Case of the Deadly Diary</a><br /></span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/183" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Chuck: A Story of the Florida Pinelands</a> <br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/45" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span style="font-weight:400;">Cracker Cop</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/238" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span style="font-weight:400;">Deadly Listings</span></a><br /><span style="font-weight:400;"><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/240" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">East Coast Toast</a><br /></span><span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/123" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">First Discoveries</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/275" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">First Gentlemen of America</a><br /></span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/18" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Florida Snow Party</a><br /><span style="font-weight:400;"><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/98" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Golden Blood</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/232" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">I’ll Be Home For Peacemas</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/91" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Love and Honors</a><br /></span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/51" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span>Mystery of the Missing Candlestick</span></a><br /><span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/201" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">One Summer in the Old Town</a><br /></span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/130" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Pablo's Search</a><br /><span style="font-weight:400;"><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/268" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Pumpkin Roll</a><br /></span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/245" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Relic</a><br /><span style="font-weight:400;"><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/246" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Rising Love: A Spiritual Journey</a><br /></span><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/149" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">River of Hidden Dreams</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/101" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span style="font-weight:400;">Sliding Beneath the Surface</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/250" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine A to Z</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/251" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span style="font-weight:400;">St. Augustine Set</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/122" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">St. Augustine's Spirits in Our Midst</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/150" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Sugar Cage</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/id/144" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Triplets Go South</a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/203" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span>The Vessel Tinaja</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/196" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span>Voices in St. Augustine</span></a><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/237" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener"><span style="font-weight:400;">Wicked Rich</span></a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[This is an automotive and pedestrian bridge.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[This bridge is accessible free-of-charge throughout the year to automotive and pedestrian traffic.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Florida Department of Transportation <br />605 Suwannee Street, MS 57<br />Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0450<br /><a href="https://www.fdot.gov/" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">FDOT</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description><rdf:Description rdf:about="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/300">
    <dcterms:title><![CDATA[Bulow Plantation]]></dcterms:title>
    <dcterms:alternative><![CDATA[Bulow Ville]]></dcterms:alternative>
    <dcterms:description><![CDATA[<p>Major Charles Wilhelm Bulow from South Carolina bought the property in 1821 from an heir of a Mr. John Russell who had acquired the land as part of a Spanish Land Grant in c.1812. Bulow’s intent was to establish a plantation. He ended up dying two years later when he was 44 and left the plantation to his son, John Joachim Bulow who was a teenager at the time and in school in France.</p>
<p>In 1823, a brief description was given of Bulow Plantation by James Emanuel Ormond III. He states that there were 300-400 slaves, a library, a large fishing boat, tenets, the plantation house with two separate kitchens, 46 slave houses that were built as a semicircle, a sawmill, corn house, sugar mill and other items too numerous to mention here. The plantation was managed by Minorcan, Francisco Pellicer Jr. Another visitor painted part of Bulow Plantation in the background of his Tell-Tale Godwit (snipe), John James Audubon, who also wrote extensively about his time visiting John Bulow and the graciousness of his reception.</p>
<p>Production on the plantation thrived until the start of the Second Seminole War. John Bulow fired a cannon at Major Putnam’s command of State Militia as they entered his property in protest. Mr. Bulow was arrested. He did not join the military, nor did he approve of the plan to forcibly relocate the Seminoles west of the Mississippi. After the Florida Militia briefly using the plantation as a campsite during the war, it was abandoned. Bulow and his slaves soon followed the military to St. Augustine on January 28, 1836, as it was clear the Seminoles did not differentiate between those who approved the government’s removal plans and those who did not. Bulow Plantation was burned by the Seminoles on January 31, 1836. The fires could be seen all the way up in St. Augustine.</p>
<p>In 1945 the State of Florida purchased the land around the Bulow ruins from a private party. In 1957, the ruins became a state park. On September 29, 1970, the ruins were upgraded to and added to the <a href="https://www.nps.gov/subjects/nationalregister/index.htm" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">National Register of Historic Places</a> which is affiliated with the National Park Service.</p>]]></dcterms:description>
    <dcterms:creator><![CDATA[<a href="/items/browse?advanced%5B0%5D%5Belement_id%5D=39&advanced%5B0%5D%5Btype%5D=is+exactly&advanced%5B0%5D%5Bterms%5D=Major+Charles+Wilhelm+Bulow">Major Charles Wilhelm Bulow</a>]]></dcterms:creator>
    <dcterms:source><![CDATA[<p style="margin:0in;background:#FFFFFF;">The following books, articles, websites, and photographers were used to find the above photographs or illustrations:<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 1 (1831): </strong>Audubon, John James. <em>The Original Water-Color Paintings by John James Audubon for the Birds of America</em>. Introduction by Marshall B. Davidson. American Heritage/Bonanza Books, 1966.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 2 (c. 1970s):</strong> Bockelman, Charles W. <em>The King's Road to Florida</em>. Published by the author, 1975.<br /><br /><strong>Photograph 3 (2023):</strong> Augusty, Jean-Marc. "Bulow Sugar Factory." April 1, 2023.<br /><br />The following books, articles, and/or websites were used to find information about this location:<br /><br />Florida State Parks: The Real Florida. “History of Bulowville.” 2024. <a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/learn/history-bulowville">https://www.floridastateparks.org/learn/history-bulowville</a>.<br /><br />Ryan, Bill. “Bulow Plantation Ruins.” Flagler County Historical Society: Holden House &amp; Research Library Annex. October 16, 2019. <a href="https://flaglercountyhistoricalsociety.com/bulow-plantation-ruins/">https://flaglercountyhistoricalsociety.com/bulow-plantation-ruins/</a>.<br /><br />Ryan, Bill. “Notes from the Author on Bulow Plantation.” Flagler County Historical Society: Holden House &amp; Research Library Annex. October 16, 2019. <a href="https://flaglercountyhistoricalsociety.com/notes-from-the-author-on-bulow-plantation/">https://flaglercountyhistoricalsociety.com/notes-from-the-author-on-bulow-plantation/</a>.</p>]]></dcterms:source>
    <dcterms:created><![CDATA[1821]]></dcterms:created>
    <dcterms:dateSubmitted><![CDATA[This record was last updated on September 26, 2024.]]></dcterms:dateSubmitted>
    <dcterms:modified><![CDATA[abt January 11, 1836]]></dcterms:modified>
    <dcterms:rights><![CDATA[Flagler College’s Rare Books, Floridiana &amp; Institutional Repository are neither the original nor current copyright owner for the photographs. Please contact the publisher or source cited for each photograph to obtain a copy and/or permission to reproduce these items.]]></dcterms:rights>
    <dcterms:hasPart><![CDATA[Florida State Parks]]></dcterms:hasPart>
    <dcterms:isReferencedBy><![CDATA[The following St. Augustine Fiction books feature this historic site as a location:<br /><br /><a href="https://staugustinefiction.omeka.net/items/show/210" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">The Land Where the Sun Dies</a>]]></dcterms:isReferencedBy>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[The original purpose of these buildings were as a private home and sugar mill with slave quarters.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:type><![CDATA[The ruins of the main house, slave quarters, and sugar mill are now owned by the State of Florida.]]></dcterms:type>
    <dcterms:mediator><![CDATA[For access and admission fees, please refer to <a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/bulow-plantation-ruins-historic-state-park" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park</a>.]]></dcterms:mediator>
    <dcterms:rightsHolder><![CDATA[Florida State Parks<br />Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park<br />3501 Old Kings Road<br />Flagler Beach, FL 32136<br /><a href="https://www.floridastateparks.org/parks-and-trails/bulow-plantation-ruins-historic-state-park" target="_blank" rel="noreferrer noopener">Bulow Plantation Ruins Historic State Park</a>]]></dcterms:rightsHolder>
</rdf:Description></rdf:RDF>
